Surgery, Dirty Doodles, Therapy, & Battle…..A Busy Week

Well, it’s been an exhausting week and a half. My daughter had appendicitis, which resulted in the expected surgery. There are definitely some stories to be told there. Like when the very young surgeon came in to explain to us what the surgery would entail and used a drawing to clarify that looked more like something a 14 year old boy would draw on the bathroom stall than a medical procedure. I’m sure he didn’t mean for it to look like genitals, but I couldn’t help but wonder what his depiction of say…testicular surgery would have looked like. I wasn’t only insecure about him performing the surgery because of his age, but also because he apparently thought an appendix was an oblong, drooping organ hanging somewhere between two vaguely round shapes. I would have been even more worried had my daughter been a son. Thankfully, he didn’t do the surgery. How amazingly well my daughter handled the whole ordeal also put her history of limping around the house for hours after stubbing her toe into perspective for me.

Being away from home for a while threw the rest of the household into a tailspin, with Michael taking the brunt of it. He was struggling even before this happened and the change in his routine couldn’t have come at a worse time. As many of you out there know, when a child with Michael’s struggles has a difficult time, it affects the entire household; we have a lot of work to do getting everything back on track here.

I haven’t talked about it much on here (though I keep meaning to), but I have an on-going battle with the school system and social security about various concerns with my children. While I’m sure they appreciated the break from my one-woman offensive, I am ready to head back to the front lines and reclaim my place as nightmare to case workers near and far. I have a lot of time to make up for, so if you see news reports of office workers jumping from windows in potentially fatal attempts to escape, you will know I was near 😉

My next few posts, assuming I can get them out like I want to, will be much more serious as I would like to both vent and let people know what we are facing with the school system. Perhaps others can offer their experiences, opinions, or perspective. Until then……

2 thoughts on “Surgery, Dirty Doodles, Therapy, & Battle…..A Busy Week

  1. crazybunny66 says:

    I meant to ask, how is your daughter now? There is nothing worse than children being ill, it makes you feel so helpless 😦

    • tgillespie27 says:

      She’s actually doing great, Thank-you! Kids are absolutely amazing. They recover so quickly. I do have to watch her carefully though. You’d think my little drama queen would be milking it for all it’s worth, but you’d never even know she’d had surgery by the way she’s acting.

Leave a Reply

